Day 195: Locked Up

12 Jul

One perk of my job is that I can go on a field trip tours of prisons. Today we visited one that I had never been to before, and was the fourth time that I’ve visited a prison. It really fascinates me to see so many people that have done something to end up in prison. This prison was slightly different in that most of the inmates can coexist without the “requirement” of staying within one’s own race. The inmate population is essentially former gang members and rapists/child molesters. In the other tours, I didn’t get to see spiritual areas, but this time I saw a Native American sweat lodge and a Wiccan something.

I even toured a meat facility – a vegetarian’s worst nightmare. There were huge blocks of meat and one random leg sticking out of a box. It smelled like beef jerky, which doesn’t make much sense to me.

Anyway, it was a nice break from work. Visiting a prison is an eyeopener. With each visit, I’ve learned something new that completely shocks me, but I’ll leave my opinion to myself. :)

Unfortunately, phones are not allowed inside, so I have to settle on a completely irrelevant picture.

One Response to “Day 195: Locked Up”

  1. Mom July 13, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    Ewww…

Leave a Reply

