Maui – Day 6

1 Jun

We woke up very early to go kayaking and snorkeling. We have been looking forward to kayaking since we enjoyed it in Kauai so much. There was only one other couple with us, which we were happy to see. Our guide was a bit slow kayaking, and Temoc kept complaining that I wasn’t helping, but we almost crashed into the guide several times… Talk about impatient. ;)

Truth be told, I was absolutely terrified of the ocean and snorkeling at first. I didn’t know how to get my feet up and everyone was watching me (all 4 of them. Haha). Well, I finally figured it out after my lovely husband helped me and we were finally on our way. Almost instantly we saw a turtle, and then a second one. We were so close that we probably could have touched one, but we didn’t want to scare it away.

Horrible, grainy photo taken with a cheap waterproof camera.

We saw several types of fish, including two humongous ones that I could have sworn were sharks (and then I said, “oh my god, oh my god” because again, terrified of the ocean!). We decided to head back to the kayak because the other couple was done. We not so gracefully got back into the kayak (I cut myself and blood was pouring down my leg – not great for the paranoid person in me that probably should have never watched nature shows with sharks because I will never forget them pouring blood into the ocean to attract sharks! Ugh…). Well, the couple got sick and wanted to leave. Our guide brought us to a second spot and left us in the middle of the ocean while he took them back. Eek! After a few minutes of trying to talk myself into getting back into the water, I finally got in. We again saw a few more turtles and several types of fish. We also saw mushroom coral, which was rather odd looking. We were freezing, even though the water is somewhere above 75°, so we decided to get back into the kayak – still not gracefully, but no blood this time! We found out the other couple got very seasick, and it made me nauseous for a good 45 minutes. Wonderful. We kayaked back, and then took a drive through a large area of lava flow. The area was beautiful – dark clouds and some fog made it look majestic. We felt dirty, so we headed back to the condo to shower and study.

See Mom, he studied!

We were feeling a bit restless, so we drove to Kahului for some shopping. We decided to go to old navy and I found a dress for $8 (this is the place to go – clothes that have sold out weeks and even months earlier at home were on a deep discount here, and the tax is less than 4.17%!).

Temoc was craving fish, so we bought ahi shoyu poke and tako poke, and some tofu poke for me (stomachache inducing, but it tasted good!).

We again relaxed and decided to watch a scary movie.

One Response to “Maui – Day 6”

  1. Mom June 1, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

    So glad you went kayaking and snorkeling!
    So Cuauhtemoc actually did some studying…impressive!

Leave a comment